Foot in my mouth again…

Well, it has happened once more, I am attempting to be helpful when I accidentally say something that is not politically correct or just plain wrong. Why me, Lord? I am a very bighearted and caring person who is driven by a desire to be helpful to others, yet I can’t seem to be able to converse without incident at least here and there. I generally do pretty well in this area, but I still have my moments.

I am a person with undiagnosed Asperger’s Syndrome. I have a son who is diagnosed that became a mirror for me to realize that I was just like him. I believe that this fact may be why I have trouble with my mouth from time to time, even though I am extremely high functioning. I am also known for my style of straight talking- honest, blunt, and often without any kind of effort to be gentle to the person receiving the comments. It is not that I want to be mean or anything, I am simply not very sensitive to words and it doesn’t occur to me that someone else may take them in a negative way. In general, my point of view is that as long as it is the truth, I am obligated to say it. To do otherwise is in my opinion to do the other person a grave disservice. I know that for me personally, most of the communicating I do is for the purpose of gathering information. I get very upset when I receive erroneous information from someone…it always confounds me as to why someone would lie to me about something that was probably nothing worth the effort to do so.

Anyway, they say that the truth hurts and I have found that to be true. It can often be, yet I still would rather have the truth than any kind of beautiful lie. I will continue to be the “tough love mother”, doling out advice to any who can benefit from it in any small way. I will also continue to strive to be more sensitive and gentle with my words. I am cursed with a fast tongue and a big mouth, but I am determined to improve in this area in order to be as helpful to everyone as is humanly possible. Thanks for listening to me, dear ones. I needed to vent and will return the favor anytime you may need me to do so. Stay strong and be happy!!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.